‘We Made It’ Issue #3: Super Sock-Power Zine Spectacle…

We Made It… again! The zine edited by Rembrand Le Compte is back for its 3rd issue and that issue is now in my hand and between my fingers. Look, see? It’s in my hand and between my fingers…

We Made It! It's the sock issue with an sweet cover from Lord Rembo himself...

We Made It! It’s the sock issue with an sweet cover from Lord Rembo himself…

The theme for this edition was ‘Socks’ and that inspired me to write a very-short comic strip titled Cap’n Patch’s Pirates and the Hunt for Socktopus. After the unicorn-action of issue 2, Cheri Borgstrom agreed to collaborate with me again and she turned my script into a really sweet comics page. Here’s an image that hints at the strip but, really, gives away nothing besides the rubber duck cameo…

There's your title and a tease of Panel One...

There’s your title and a tease of Panel One…

That’s just one submission in an anthology of 11 pieces from a diverse range of international artists working in different mediums. We Made It is packed, as always, with some wonderful creative energy and if it sounds interesting, I direct you to the site where you can download a digital version or seek out a printed copy. (And there you can also find Issue #1 which features my short story Whale Caesar and Issue #2 which features mine and Cheri’s comic Unicorn Exclusive: Una the Aurous Tells All.)

Same as ever, it’s always a thrill to see my words turned into a tangible, visualised comic and I’m really happy to be a part of collaborative endeavours like this. Here’s to creating things, to comics, to Cap’n Patch and – yeah – to socks. Socks rock, and this zine proves it…

Leave a comment

Say?

