Crankin’ Up the Rock ‘n’ Roll Christmas Audio Carnage…

 

Yulekulele solo! *shreds*

Rock out! That above is the Yulekulele and it’s one of the Magical Christmas Artefacts on my Advent Calendar. I’ve got a lot of air Yulekulele action going down at the moment because I’m listening to a lot of festive rock music. Nay, I don’t just listen to the music – I feel the music. I respond in harmony. I thrash around, howl out th’words, throw shapes and headbang like a ho-ho-ho-mofoco. ‘Tis the season, after all…

I do this because ‘Christmas is Awesome‘ and because the sound of seasonal music is, erm, music to my ears in a period I figure with should appreciate with a perky, celebratory attitude. It’s also been sweet to discover that certain artists have laid down surprising festive tracks that I never knew they existed. Sir Christopher Lee has done multiple heavy metal Christmases! Finnish symphonic metal band Nightwish have a beautiful cover of Walking in the Air! Bad Religion have recently released an EP called Christmas Songs and it’s a wonderful, spiritually-uplifting irony-free punk rock blast!

Some of these things will be getting cranked on tonight’s FNAT radio show on BBC Radio Lancashire. I’m going to be joining my old man and Sean McGinty again from 10pm to 1am and I’m mainly doing it to mash Merry Christmas Rock Music in everyone’s earholes. If you would like to hear some yulerific riffage you can tune in online. It’ll be fun and may boost your spirits and help you battle pre-Christmas stress. You will definitely get to hear some odd versions of old yuletide favourites and it may help you feel a bit more festive if you’ve not already (like me) gone completely Christmas crackers.

For now though, I will leave you with a link to my Christmas Den of Geek column, a  link to my current jam (erm, cranberry sauce?) and a singing gingerbread man because it’s Christmas and ’tis the season for music and magic…

Crumbs, that’s a beautiful rendition of ‘Hark! The Herald Angels Sing’…

Leave a comment

Say?

