Hailing Hobbits and Hearing Tolkien Rock on the Radio…

Hum hum hum! (Those are seasonal Dwarf hums. Misty mountains cold? Forgotten gold? Aye?) What’s happening? I’ve been busy humming on, all hopped up on doing Christmassy things, in case you were wondering. Joining the Alternate Reality News bulletins on the ‘things I do daily’ list, the Magical Christmas Artefacts Advent Calendar has been opening up every day of December over on my sketchy doodle blog. One of my favourites so far is the Jolly Holly 3D FestSpecs…

I might stick these on and go and see The Hobbit in 3D…

Today, however, celebrating Christmas is taking back seat while I celebrate something else, for ’tis Hobbit Day. Happy Hobbit Day! The Desolation of Smaug is out in cinemas and I’ve been to see it and, oh by Gandalf the Grey’s undergarments, it’s glorious. In honour of the momentous occasion several Tolkientastic things are going down. Over on Den of Geek my weekly column is devoted to Peter Jackson’s Middle Earth movies -mainly focusing on their epic length and defending said ludicrous runtimes. These films need to be overlong affairs because the material is epic and because we need to immerse ourselves in larger-than-life blockbuster films every so often. It’s an event and we should savour the spectacle and enjoy spending as much time in the Tolkienverse (or any other fictional fantasy realm) as possible.

But wait there’s more, my Precious! Tonight I’ll be joining my old man (he’s a wizard who should know better) and Sean McGinty for the FNAT show on BBC Radio Lancashire. I’m going to rock out, ramble on nonsense and present an interview I did with Airbourne frontman Joel O’Keeffe. Mainly though – getting back to Middle Earth – I’m going to be leading the team through an hour of tracks all inspired by Tolkien’s works. There are some great prog rock tributes to The Lord of the Rings, I tell thee. I also hope we’ll be playing Flight of the Conchords’ “Frodo, Don’t Wear the Ring” and Leonard Nimoy’s “The Ballad of Bilbo Baggins”. It just wouldn’t be a ‘Best Songs About The Lord of the Rings’ playlist without those classics…

That will be on air at Midnight though the main show starts at 10pm and is subsequently available on the BBC iPlayer. In the meantime you can go and see The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug at most cinemas and I recommend it. This update blogpost needs an appropriate image so I’ll leave you with Gandalf wearing 3D specs (not as magical as my Holly Jolly 3D FestSpecs)…

He is not a conjurer of cheap tricks. I don’t think he likes the 48fps gimmick…

Leave a comment

Say?

