Pictonaut Short Story Challenge: ‘The Iron Count’…

The end of the month is upon us and, thus, it’s time to file in a Pictonaut story effort. What happens is this: every month the Sagacious Sage John Steele picks a picture and challenges people to write a short story about it. I take up that challenge every time, though sometimes I end up doing something a bit unusual but it doesn’t matter ’cause it’s all creative experimentation and, hey, I have fun. I like creative experimentation and fun.

November’s Pictonaut image was this piece of concept art from the Dishonored videogame…

Concept art from Dishonoured which is, I’m told, an excellent videogame…

I have not played the game because I tend to only play retro games or games that feel like retro games ’cause I’m trapped in a weird game rut. I also don’t play videogames as much as I’d like to because I’m distracted by films and the constant feeling that “I should be writing stuff and not playing videogames!” Ultimately on a cosmic scale this is a non-problem so I will be at peace with it. Getting back on track to talk about more pressing matters, I wanted to write something inspired by this picture and so I did. Here it is – a short vignette titled The Iron Count: or The Solemn Subjects of Zarltivania and Their Uncle Rati Who Was Loved and Feared or, Rather, Loved Because He Was Feared. I got ideas about making it a pointed epic with an explicit message or maybe adding a meta-heavy epilogue but it all felt pointless and pretentious. So it stands and feel free to read into it what you will. The Iron Count then, for you consideration if you’re in the mood for some short slightly-absurd fiction…

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Regent | The Rogue Verbumancer

Say?

